Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Supporting your LGBTQ+ Grandchild (Virtual Program)

June 7 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Free

MONDAY • JUNE 20, 2022
12:00 PM PT | 2:00 PM CT | 3:00 PM ET

SPEAKERS:
SHERRILL WAYLAND, She/Her/They/Them, Director of Special Initiatives, SAGE
Sherrill directs the operations of programs such as SAGECare and the National Resource Center on
LGBTQ+ Aging. Sherrill began work with SAGE at the local level in 2008, founding the SAGE Affiliate in
St. Louis, MO, and became a certified trainer with SAGE in 2011. Sherrill has over 20 years of professional
experience in the fields of education, disability, and LGBTQ+ older adult advocacy.
LIZ OWEN, She/Her, Director of Communications, PFLAG
Liz received her B.S. from the School of Speech at Northwestern University, where she majored in Theatre
and Communications and began her career in theater before expanding her experience. During her time
working on an LGBTQ family film, she developed partnerships with numerous national LGBTQ organizations;
among them was PFLAG National. In January 2011, Liz jumped on the opportunity to join the organization as
Director of Communications.
Grandparents are the source of unconditional love for their grandchildren. When a grandchild
comes to you to discuss matters of sexual orientation and gender identity, they are depending on
you to listen to them and not judge them. Join us for this educational webinar for grandparents
and those with younger loved ones who are coming out as LGBTQ+. We’ll learn how sexual
orientation differs from gender identity, tips for showing your support, and more.
For questions, please email
[email protected] Register online at bit.ly/SupportingLGBTQ_BV

Venue

Belmont Village Buffalo Grove
500 McHenry Rd
Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
847-537-5000